Page 1 of 1

Deployment zones clarification

PostPosted: November 12th, 2014, 8:47 pm
by EccentricOwl
I quote:

"EXCLUSION ZONE
The use of the Airborne Deployment, Mechanized Deployment
and Infiltration Special Skills is not allowed, as well as the
deployment rule of the Impersonation Special Skill, inside of
an 8 inch area on either side of the central line of the game
table. Exclusion Zone does not apply to the Dispersion rule."


Does this mean that Infiltration and Airborne Deployment are useless the entire game?
Or the first turn?

Can I AD a guy in later?

Do AD/MD/Infiltration let me deploy farther at all?

Re: Deployment zones clarification

PostPosted: November 12th, 2014, 9:01 pm
by Harlekin
EccentricOwl wrote:I quote:

"EXCLUSION ZONE
The use of the Airborne Deployment, Mechanized Deployment
and Infiltration Special Skills is not allowed, as well as the
deployment rule of the Impersonation Special Skill, inside of
an 8 inch area on either side of the central line of the game
table. Exclusion Zone does not apply to the Dispersion rule."


Does this mean that Infiltration and Airborne Deployment are useless the entire game?
Or the first turn?

Can I AD a guy in later?

Do AD/MD/Infiltration let me deploy farther at all?


You only can't use said skills in the "EXCLUSION ZONE" for this special scenario.

Re: Deployment zones clarification

PostPosted: November 13th, 2014, 1:43 am
by EccentricOwl
Interesting. So if there's such a small band that you can't deploy in... why have it there at all?

Unrelated: are there any circumstances whatsoever that you can deploy in your enemy's deployment zone? Aside from Impersonate.

Re: Deployment zones clarification

PostPosted: November 13th, 2014, 3:52 am
by Hordshyrd
Impersonation is the only way that a model can be deployed in the enemy's deployment zone at the start of the battle. Only AD: tactical jump or AD combat jump can be used to deploy a model in the opponents deployment zone after deployment.

In terms of infiltration in N2 a dispersion roll that would result in your model being placed in the enemy DZ results in stopping just at the edge instead, in N3 a failed roll means you lose infiltration and deploy as a normal model, so neither of those allow for DZ deployment even accidentally.

Re: Deployment zones clarification

PostPosted: November 13th, 2014, 7:45 am
by Errhile
EccentricOwl wrote:Interesting. So if there's such a small band that you can't deploy in... why have it there at all?


In most cases - for fluff reasons: it is airtight sealed, contaminated or otherwise dangerous.

This may also be a method of keeping players from auto-winning a given scenario with Infiltrators, I guess. From what I've seen in ITS (and Dire Foes) scenarios, having an infiltrated Specialist or two is a serious advantage.